Academic Honors


Grading: Most courses are graded on an A-F basis. Some courses are graded on a satisfactory/unsatisfactory (pass/fail) basis. A grade of F in a course means there have been no credits earned for that course.
In addition, a student has the individual option to select up to ten credit points each semester to be graded on a satisfactory/ unsatisfactory basis other than the standard system. A student may, however, use only 30 credit points of these satisfactory/ unsatisfactory options toward the total number of hours required for graduation. (Courses offered only on the satisfactory/ unsatisfactory basis do not count toward the 30 points.)

Grade Point Average

In all cases of academic recognition a student’s grade point average (GPA) is of fundamental importance. GPA is the sole criterion in all cases except National Honor Society and class rank based on class rank points. Induction into National Honor Society considers scholarship, character, leadership, and service. Class Rank Points consider awarding of points for the grade a stu­dent earned in a course, the number of credit hours earned and whether the course was weighted or unweighted.

A limited number of classes in the Lincoln Public Schools curriculum provide for weighted grades. In these courses, only a grade of “C” and above is weighted.

A = 5.0 B+ = 4.5 B = 4.0 C+ = 3.5 C = 3.0

Honor Roll

To be on Honor Roll a student must carry a minimum of 25 credits of approved classes (graded courses) with a semester grade point average of 3.5 or better.

Scholastic Letters

Scholastic Letters are awarded to those students who achieve a weighted semester GPA of 4.0 or better for at least 25 credits of approved classes (graded courses) for any two consecutive semesters while at Lincoln Northeast.

Graduation Honors

Effective for the class of 2021, the Laude Latin model will be used to recognize academic excellence at the conclusion of a students high school career. Students will work to compete against the criterion for academic honors – rather than other students. Graduation honors will be determined following the second to last semester of high school, and the student is required to graduate by the end of the next semester. The following three levels of academic honors will be used:

1. SUMMA CUM LAUDE “with highest distinction”: Students with a cumulative GPA of 4.250 and above on a 4.00 weighted scale.

2. MAGNA CUM LAUDE “with great distinction”: Students with a cumulative GPA of 4.000 to 4.249 on a 4.00 weighted scale.

3. CUM LAUDE ” with distinction”: Students with cumulative GPA of 3.750 to 3.999 on a 4.00 weighted scale.

Seven Semester Honor Roll

Graduating seniors are honored at commencement for having achieved Honor Roll status for each of the previous seven semesters.

National Honor Society

Membership in National Honor Society is a mark of student achievement. It signifies high standards of scholarship, service, leadership, and character. Students are eligible for membership in the National Honor Society if they have achieved at least a 3.5 GPA for at least four semesters of high school work and completed an information form showing evidence of service, leadership and character. A committee of five teachers approved by the principal (or a designee) selects members for induction as first semester juniors or seniors.